Australia name white-ball squads to face ‘formidable’….

Australia name white-ball squads to face ‘formidable’ South Africa.

Alyssa Healy will lead the side in their first-ever multi-format series with South Africa. Meanwhile, allrounder Sophie Molineux will captain the Governor General’s XI side.

Australia have named a similar squad for the white-ball legs of the multi-format home series against South Africa which faced off against India. While an exciting group of youngsters have also been picked for the Governor General’s XI.

Australia, captained by Alyssa Healy, will play three T20Is, three ODIs, and a one-off Test, marking their first-ever multi-format series against South Africa. Meanwhile, Melbourne Renegades’ skipper Sophie Molineux will captain the Governor General’s XI side. The all-rounder returns to representative cricket after a year-long hiatus due to a broken ACL.

“South Africa were formidable opponents in the 2023 ICC T20 World Cup final in Cape Town and we look forward to the challenge of hosting the Proteas in a multi-format series in Australia. The squads for the upcoming T20s and ODIs are very similar to the one that travelled to India recently. As was the case for our home series against the West Indies in October, Grace Harris is part of the squad for the T20s only and will be replaced by Alana King for the ODIs,” said Shawn Flegler, Chair of the Women’s National Selection Panel as quoted by

White-ball series against South Africa: Pakistan women's squad announced -  Sports - Business Recorder

Kirsten Beams, Cricket Australia‘s National Development Lead, will coach the Governor-General’s XI side and be assisted by Jenny Gunn and Grant Lambert.

“The Governor-General’s XI fixture presents a great opportunity to see some of the brightest young cricketers take on a high-quality international opposition. The talent in this squad shows the depth in the women’s game in Australia and we’re excited to see our next generation of players progress through the ranks of Australian cricket,” added Flegler.

AUS-W squad vs SA-W: Alyssa Healy (c), Darcie Brown, Heather Graham, Ashleigh Gardner, Kim Garth, Grace Harris (T20s only), Jess Jonassen, Alana King (ODIs only), Phoebe Litchfield, Tahlia McGrath, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Georgia Wareham

Governor-General’s XI squad: Sophie Molineux (c), Chloe Ainsworth, Maddy Darke, Amy Edgar, Tess Flintoff, Sianna Ginger, Milly Illingworth, Charli Knott, Courtney Sippel, Amy Smith, Georgia Voll, Private Kayla Stuchbree.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *