GOOD NEWS: NFLPA President Have Selected Detriot Lions Players For…

Jalen Reeves-Maybin, a linebacker for the Detroit Lions and valuable member of the special teams unit, has been chosen by the NFL Players Association board of player representatives to serve as president. Reeves-Maybin takes over for JC Tretter, the former center for the Cleveland Browns and Green Bay Packers who held the position for two seasons.

“It will be my mission to continue to serve and unify our membership, and I look forward to inspiring more players to use their voice in advocating for the union and our game,” Reeves-Maybin said in a statement released by the union.

Alongside previous executive director DeMaurice Smith, Tretter led the players throughout the negotiations of the current collective bargaining agreement, which became operative in 2020. The league’s schedule saw major modifications as a result of the CBA, including a 17-game regular season, a reduced preseason, and an increased playoff format from 12 to 14.

Less than a year after Lloyd Howell was selected to succeed Smith as executive director, Reeves-Maybin was chosen NFLPA president. The installation of artificial turf in some NFL stadiums raises worries about potential injury risks, and the union may try to address these issues while the CBA is in place until the 2030 season.

In February, following his first Pro Bowl nomination and second team All-Pro nod, Reeves-Maybin inked a two-year, $7.5 million contract to remain in Detroit.

On Friday, the union also declared that Oren Burks, Cameron Heyward, Case Keenum, and Thomas Hennessy—four further newcomers—had been voted to the executive leadership position. They are joined by newly elected members Thomas Morstead, Calais Campbell, Michael Thomas, Ryan Kelly, Austin Ekeler, and Brandon McManus.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *